Accepting nominations for the Carol Kaplan Award

Carol Kaplan award winners

Previous Carol Kaplan Community Service Award winners

Freeport Community Services is now accepting nominations for the Carol Kaplan Memorial Community Service Award. The award is named after the long-time General Services Director for the Town of Freeport. It is given annually by Freeport Community Services to an individual who embodies the mission of FCS, and who has had a positive impact on client services and/or the organization. FCS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to enrich lives, connect neighbors, and help those in need in Freeport and Pownal.

The deadline for nominations is Friday September 21, 2018.

Nomination forms are available at the Freeport Community Center at 53 Depot St., Freeport, ME, or you can download them here:


Nominations may be submitted by email to Kim Hudak at, mailed to FCS at POB 119, Freeport, ME 04032, or submitted in person at the offices of Freeport Community Services, 53 Depot Street, Freeport, ME. 

For more information about the Carol Kaplan Memorial Community Service Award or the mission of Freeport Community Services, please contact Kim Hudak at 865-3985, ext. 202.

Carol Kaplan Memorial Community Service Award Past recipients

2001 Edgar Leighton

2002 Bob Melargno

2003 Marie Forbus and Sally Amory

2004 Johanna Hanselman

2006 Peter Warren

2007 Jan Newlin

2008 Judy Miskell

2009 Fran Stevens

2010 Daric Ebert

2011 Kate and Jonas Werner

2012 Carol Southall

2013 Stephen Cogswell

2014 Marjorie Perkins and Joan Plourde

2015 Judy Higbea (In Memorium)

2016 Debbie Daggett

2017 Edrol Sandy


*There was no recipient in 2005

This entry was posted in News.